Book: Game of Thrones

Probably everybody heard of it: Game of Thrones. People who didn’t know the TV series is actually based on a book should be slapped in the face right now. At our university, in the history department, everybody is watching/reading it and talking about it. I really wanted to watch it too, but NOT before I read the books first. It’s kind of a principle, when people ask me ‘Have you read the books too?’ then I can say yes. While I was taking classes I was just too busy to start with those 750 pages of the first book. When vacation started I bought the first book, in dutch, which was a horrible mistake. I have never read a book so badly translated in dutch than Game of Thrones.

Still, even though it’s a disgrace for literature and the author in Dutch, it is one of the best books I’ve ever read. It is so realistic, like I’m studying for my course Medieval Times with all the stories of what happens with Kings and Queens and what happens within Kingdoms. At first, I admit, you’ll think ‘What is this? This is way too complicated’. Which is true, the complexity and the amount of people he introduces in the first 100 pages is overwhelming. But once you get through those first pages, a world of treason, murder and secrets will reveal itself, and there is nothing you can do but surrender.

I’m at the point that I really want to know how it ends, but I don’t want it to end. Luckily there are 5 more books, thousands of pages written about this incredible kingdom. I bought the rest of the books in English, and I can’t wait to fall in love with Martins way of writing. And after I have finished the first book, I can finally allow myself to start watching the series. And when that happens I’m sure I’ll be hooked and I’ll be wanting more…

Winter is coming…

 

Geef een reactie

